Welcome to the Alabama Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Course. The course has been approved by the Alabama Board of Physical Therapy and meets the requirement for 2 hours of Alabama jurisprudence (see the Hot Topics portion of the Board's website). The course will cover selected parts of the Practice Act. If there any questions regarding various parts not covered by the course, you will need to direct those questions towards the Board of Physical Therapy. The course will play on any computer that will play a "Flash" video or plug-in. In addition, your computer must temporarily allow "cookies" and "Active X controls" to be able to purchase and play the course. If there is a problem, these controls can be found in your Internet tools options. However, some hospital or clinic locations may not allow access to the "shopping cart" for security reasons. You may have to proceed with the purchase at home. The username and password that you will be sent will allow you to access the course from anywhere, home or work.
Before you can begin the course, you must purchase the course by clicking on the cart at the bottom of the "Profile Information" page.
Upon completing the transaction, you will be sent an Order Confirmation from "Shopping Cart" with a Username and Password listed just below the words "Order Confirmation" at the top of the document. You will need to retrieve those and type them when prompted after clicking on the "Course Home" page (this will allow you access to the course). This email will be sent upon payment.
The course is designed to begin by clicking on the “About the course” button then proceeding to the “Statutes”, “Rules”, and then “Declaratory rulings/Board opinions” buttons. After clicking on each section, the section will open. Click on the link for the video. At the end of the video close the window and proceed to the next section. There will be a test of knowledge at the conclusion of the statutes and rules sections (however, there is no post-test). At the conclusion of the course, you will be able to take the course evaluation.
Your certificate of continuing education will be emailed to you after payment is received as well as the information from the profile information page. However, you can still renew your license after the course with the State Physical Therapy Board website. You must type when prompted "Institute of Rehabilitation and Training", the date you took the course, and 2 hours.